Countdown to Travelling: 14 Weeks

14 weeks, 5 days, 20 hours and 51 minutes till Harry and I make our way to the airport and head to Hong Kong… very, very, very excited to say the least!

So far we have paid our deposits for flights and a 14 day Full Moon Tour around Thailand. Everything else still needs to be researched, organised and paid for! I am slightly stressed about getting it all done, however with the looming thought of university completely swamping my head, I haven’t had any time to even look into travelling yet!

Our first stop is Hong Kong, and we’re there for 3 days. I have been to Hong Kong before, however I was about 8 or 9, and unfortunately, I not remember a lot of it. I remember seeing pandas (which I loved, and do want to see again!) and visiting the Peninsula Hotel for afternoon tea. Apart from that, I was too young to fully remember the trip.

I’ve quickly googled places to see there, and one of the top 3 places is Ocean Park, where I remember we saw the pandas. However, I don’t really want to spend a whole day at a theme park, so I’ll have to look into zoos there! Another top tourist attraction is Victoria Peak, where we did go when I was younger, but I have no memory of it, so I think we will head there one afternoon to see another view of Hong Kong!

Another attraction I would quite like to see is the Tian Tan Buddha, or as my parents both call it, ‘the Big Buddha’. My only memory of seeing this is the amount of steps it took to reach the top! The Ngong Ping 360 seems to be a popular attraction for tourists to see a 360-degree view of the place, so I think it would be worth having a trip on that, especially if we’ve been walking around all day!

One thing I have never heard of, but is a popular attraction, is Lamma Island. Described as “a traditional Chinese fishing village to a laid-back multicultural community, Lamma’s blend of Western and Chinese island life creates an atmosphere that has proved irresistible for Hong Kong’s busy residents”, this definitely sounds like a place to see. I also found the Sha Chau and Lung Kwu Chau Marine Park, which is within city’s western waters, which are home to pink dolphins. PINK DOLPHINS. So obviously that will be on the itinerary! (As you may have guessed, I really like animals). Within Hong Kong, another popular sight are the markets – a few memories I have of the markets are the overwhelming stench of fish, and seeing a fish’s head dropping to the floor. Certainly was a sight to see. I also want to see some temples – they will be nothing like we have ever seen before!

One important thing we must research is our accommodation – a travellers budget, yet a good central location to make sure we don’t have to travel large distances and don’t waste amounts of time getting from place to place!

Obviously these are only ideas, nothing is set in stone, however by January I reckon we’ll have to start properly creating an itinerary and arranging things.

Maisie

Image taken from Google

Leave a Reply

