How 2016 Was The Best Yet Also The Worst

Its safe to say that 2016 was probably the worst year. Many awful things happened in many different topics, in politics, celebrity culture, plan crashes, racist attacks, and my personal life. 

The number of horrifying attacks and shootings that happened  this year seems unbelievable – police shootings on the innocent, the Orlando shooting, the Istanbul airport attack, Bastille Day attack, Brussels bombing, the list seems to go on. It’s heartbreaking to think how many lives were lost this year.

The world was shook by the death of the icon David Bowie back in January, and immediately made everyone believe that the rest of year was to go downhill from that, and it did. Gene Wilder, Sir Terry Wogan, Muhammad Ali, Prince, Victoria Wood, Ronnie Corbett, Harper Lee, Alan Rickman, the list goes on. This year will go down in history for being an infamous year for celebrity deaths.

And for the cherry on top, America elected Trump to be their president. Good luck America.

Even though so many bad things happened, some positive things happened too. I am not an optimistic person, I wish I was, but I’m not, and unfortunately society always focuses on the negatives rather than the positive, which is frustrating as the positive things are never covered in media.

For example, some things that you may not have heard about is that the world average life expectancy has increased by 6 years since 1990! The ozone layer is repairing itself! There is a cat in New Zealand who has been stealing men’s underwear! Some of the kidnapped girls who were abducted by Boko Haram were freed!

My personal life was, as the cliche goes, a roller coaster. My home life was, quite frankly, disastrous. I was in hospital for a few days over possible issues with my kidneys – after an ultrasound, Doctors said that my kidneys were fine, thank God! My uncle passed away 2 weeks before my A-levels, which was incredibly tragic, and it upset me seeing my dad so distraught. At  my leavers ball, which was a day after I found out the news of his death, I had to put on a brave face, and try to enjoy the night – it was supposed to be a night of celebration of the end of sixth form.

On the other hand, this year has been incredible for my social life. My boyfriend and I decided to get into a proper relationship, and him being by my side throughout the year has helped me so much. (Sounds soppy as fuck, but being with him has made me so incredibly happy.) Thanks Harry! I went to Magaluf with my friends, which was so much fun, and an amazing way to spend time with each other before they left for university. I also went to Leeds Festival, which was probably the muddiest weekend of my life, however the best way to end the summer. I also spoke to a few people who were in my year, yet I never spoke to at school. In November I visited Amsterdam with Harry, which was amazing. Harry and I have also booked our travels for next year, which should be incredible, and I am so excited for it! As cliche as it sounds, this year has been full of experiences, good and bad.

So, 2017, I think it’s safe say, myself and the world are ready for you. But please be kind!

Maisie

 

Leave a Reply

